My Adventures learning how to refinishing furniture

Join me as I learn by trial and error how to refinish furniture

This antique chest just needed some paint and wallpaper to make it the stunner that it is now!

Leave a comment

antique, server, furniture, repaint

The antique server is its original condition.

Here we have the before and after:

This is the condition the piece was in when I started working on it. Parts of the trim around the top were gone but I decided that it added character to the piece. I had just gotten some great ideas on what to do with the doors from Pinterest.com.  It’s a great site, I highly recommend it.

There were many hours of love put into the effort of bringing my vision to life, but I have to say it was worth it!

refinished, painted furniture, antique, vintage

And here it is! Just as I imagined it would look like.

I cleaned the original hardware and polished it. So all of the hardware is original except for the pull on the door that has the wallpaper on it. I gave the chest an uncover  coat of green so it would show when I distressed the top layer of blue. The wallpaper is from my upstairs bathroom. It really lends an air of the tropics to the piece. Then I applied two coats of Miss Mustard Seed wax and voila.

Price $375 plus shipping, or it can be picked up. 🙂

Author: Kathi Tesone

I like going to yard and estate sales, playing video games, especially Dragon Age Inquisition and Telltale Game of Thrones. Favorite genre -science fiction, thriller, mystery Books: The Alchemist, The Secret History, The Da Vinci Code TV shows - Once Upon a Time, Game of Thrones, Homeland, Better Call Saul,Orphan Black, Bates Motel. I'm an ex-TV writer, programmer, Database Analyst, Mom, daughter, wife, cook, maid, driver, nurse, and, oh yeah, a writer.

I'd like to hear from you!